Transiting in Europe, as of 01 June 2020

Transit: situation in the individual countries for holidaymakers

In detail, the situation in the transit countries is as follows (as of June 1st).

Passing through Austria without a stopover is permitted provided that departure to the respective neighboring country is ensured.

Transit through Slovenia is always possible for EU citizens, provided that it takes place on the same day. It is also a prerequisite that the passenger passing through is allowed to enter the neighbouring country.

Transit travelers (EU and EEA nationals as well as third-country nationals who have a long-term stay in the EEA) can travel through Croatia to get to their home or place of residence.

Since May 22, 2020, entry and transit to and through Serbia has again been possible without any restrictions. At the border, travelers receive a bilingual information sheet about the Covid 19 measures to be observed.

North Macedonia
Travelers who do not have Macedonian citizenship and do not have a valid Macedonian residence permit will be refused entry. All border crossings are closed to passenger traffic.

Transit journeys by land through Hungary are possible via the following border crossings on so-called humanitarian corridors:
– Romania: Nagylak border crossing (open daily from 6 a.m. to midnight)
– Serbia: Röszke border crossing (open daily from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m.)
A prerequisite for transit is that entry into the destination country and transit through transit countries is possible. For third-country nationals (non-EEA citizens), in addition to the valid passport, a valid residence permit of the destination country must also be presented. During the health check, which is compulsory as part of the border crossing, no suspected symptoms of Covid 19 disease may be identified.

Entry into Romania has been subject to far-reaching restrictions since March 22, 2020. Foreigners in transit may enter if they can demonstrate that they can enter the destination country and pass through Romania quickly.

EU citizens have been allowed to enter Bulgaria again since May 22, 2020. Upon entry, Temperature measurements and 14-day quarantine are mandatory. There are exceptions to the 14-day quarantine requirement (e.g. for transit travelers, bus and truck drivers and for family visits to Bulgarian citizens of no more than 7 days). A corresponding declaration must be completed upon entry.

For the time being, entry from Turkey to Greece is only possible until May 31st for Greek nationals, people with a Greek residence permit or people with a habitual residence in Greece.

Unfortunately we cannot guarantee this. Only the authorities of the individual countries can make binding statements.

Travelers should keep in mind that the situation can change at any time.

Source: ADAC.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.